Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Text Size


The death occurred on April 26 of Prof. Upali Jayaseka, the founder Dean of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences of the Sabaragamuwa University. He was 82.

Prof. Upali Jayasekara joined the Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka in 1996 and was the founder Dean of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences. He served the Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka from 1996-2004. He retired from the Sabaragamuwa University on February 5, 2004 and was recognized as an Emeritus Professor of Livestock Production.

He acquired his tertiary education with Bachelor of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry in 1965. Subsequently, he obtained a Master of Science (Veterinary Pathology) University of Saskatchewan, Canada in 1973. After obtaining MSc, he moved to Kansas State University, USA in 1978 where he obtained Doctor of Philosophy in Pathology. He has served as a Staff Pathologist/Study Director at the Parke Davis Research Institute, USA from 1979-1986.

He returned to Sri Lanka in 1986 and joined the Institute of Fundamental Studies as the Deputy Director of Research.

He then joined the National Aquatic Resources Research and Development Agency in 1990 as the Director General. In 2004, he was the Chairman of the National Agriculture Development Board of Sri Lanka.


Upali Jayasekara was a past student of the Dharmashoka College, Ambalangoda.




These photographs were taken on the 24th of March on the occasion of awarding scholarships by the Colombo Br Trust

Dharmasoka College Past Pupils Association Colombo branch ...newly amended Constitution presented to the Honourable Justice K.T.Chithrasiri and the committee members by Association President Air Vice Marshal (Retd) Thilan De Silva at the Elevate Restuarent at Access Towers Colombo 2..on 13th march 2021.


Mr. Mahinda Appointed as head ofthe Delimitation Commission of Electorate of Sri Lanka.


Dharmasoka College past Pupil Association Colombo Branch Executive Committee Member Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya has been appointed as new head of the Delimitation Commission of Electorate of Sri Lanka.

Mr. Deshapriya was former Chairman of the Election Commission of Sri Lanka.


Page 1 of 8